THE GLUE

With their new programme «la bouche qui rit» (French: The Mouth that laughs), The Glue continue seamlessly with their hallmark shows «Boca Juniors» and «Kin' de Lele». Stunning a-cappella originals, mixed with surprising cover-songs and lots of humour, the five lads from Basel certainly know how to entertain their audience.

It's been more than four years since their last album, but well spent years that have polished their international reputation: «Best Original Song and 2nd Prize» at Harmony Sweepstakes a-cappella competition on Broadway in New York, concerts on four continents in Halls such as the huge «Music Centre at Strathmore» near Washington DC, the «National Arts Centre» in Ottawa, the «Esplanade» in Singapore, the «Cultural Centre» in Hong Kong and the «Gewandhaus in Leipzig». They have also toured across South Africa with concerts in front of Clan Chiefs and at villages in far-out locations and performed a gig on the day of independence in Morocco. They were also invited to the «Taiwan Contemporary A Cappella Festival» and won a gold medal at the «World Cup Competition» in Taipeh.

 

The Glue‘s international reputation stands for idiosyncratic, non-conformist vocal music which is aimed at the highest possible level.

Stylistically they manoeuvre between many musical worlds. You will hear imitations of French songs of the 60's besides Emo-Rock blasts of the present age or timeless Funk tunes.

With lyrics in German, English, Italian, Spanish, French or even Chinese, they articulate themselves beyond language barriers and enable themselves to reach out to a worldwide audience.

 

What though would they be without their roguish charm? In spite of their success, they have remained the boys they were 17 years ago when they founded the group. Self-deprecating, bold and then suddenly inartificially serious, they balance a one and a half hour programme of musical diversity that excites and never bores an audience.

 

Stephen Connolly from «The King's Singers» described them once as «Typically Swiss»

He must have meant it as a compliment. 

 

 

The Glue - Die Band

THE GLUE

Mit ihrem neuen Programm «la bouche qui rit» knüpfen The Glue nahtlos an ihre Vorgänger-programme «Boca Juniors» und «Kin’ de Lele» an. Verblüffend arrangierte a-cappella Perlen aus der eigenen Produktion gemischt mit überraschenden Covers und einer zünftigen Portion Schalk; nach wie vor wissen die fünf Basler ihr Publikum treffend zu unterhalten.

Mehr als vier Jahre sind seit ihrem letzten Album vergangen. Jahre, in denen The Glue ihr inter-nationales Image kräftig aufpoliert haben: «Beste Eigenkomposition» und „2nd Prize“ an der Harmony Sweepstakes a-cappella Competition am Broadway in New York, Konzerte auf vier Kontinenten in Sälen wie dem riesigen „Music Center at Strathmore“ bei Washington DC, dem „National Arts Centre“ in Ottawa, der „Esplanade“ in Singapur, dem „Cultural Center“ in Hong Kong oder dem „Gewandhaus Leipzig“ - eine Tour quer durch Südafrika mit Konzerten vor Stammeshäuptlingen und in entlegenen Dörfern, Einladung zum Taiwan International Contemporary A Cappella Festival mit Gewinn einer Goldmedaille an der „World Cup Competition“ in Taipeh, und ein Auftritt am Tag der Unabhängigkeit in Marokko...

 

The Glue stehen international für eigenwillige, nonkonforme Vokalmusik auf höchstem Niveau.

Stilistisch bewegen sie sich zwischen den musikalischen Welten. Anlehnungen an Chansons der 60er Jahre finden sich genauso wie EmoRockkracher der Neuzeit oder zeitlose Funknummern. Die Texte mal deutsch, mal englisch, italienisch, spanisch, französisch oder sogar chinesisch, bewegen sie sich jenseits nationaler Sprachgrenzen und erreichen so weltweit ihr Publikum.

 

Doch sie wären nichts ohne ihren spitzbübischen Charme. Trotz aller Erfolge sind sie im Grunde die Jungs geblieben, die sie bei der Gründung vor 17 Jahren waren. Selbstironisch, frech und dann doch wieder mit einer ungekünstelten Ernsthaftigkeit balancieren sie sich souverän durch eineinhalb Stunden Programm. Dem Publikum wird es dabei garantiert nie langweilig.

 

«Typical Swiss» nannte sie Stephen Connolly von The King’s Singers.

Das kann nur als Kompliment gemeint sein.

 

 

The Glue - Die Band